Test results

Today, I received two test results.  First, and most anxiety-provoking, my name was on the “pass” list for the Texas Bar Examination. This marks my third law license since graduating in 2012, but it was the first exam I really thought I might actually fail.  I knew I blew my first exam out of the water, but this was a completely different story.  It’s traditional for law students to graduate and then spend all day for the entire summer studying to pass the bar exam.  It’s traditional for attorneys to move to a new state and then spend time studying to take the exam.  It’s a bit rarer to move to a new state, start working and then study and take the bar exam while working.  I wasn’t quite sure I was able to put enough time into preparing.  I took a few days off from work toward the end to really try to make a final push towards nailing the exam.  The knowledge I crammed into my head the last few days may have been the biggest academic feat of my life.  In any event, it’s over, it worked out, thank God.  My life can stay normal.

My second test result was a slightly improved A1C.  My results are down by .2.  I was hoping that would be the case as I have done a much better job using my CGM and I’ve really increased my amount of exercise every week.  Sometimes these changes don’t pay off in an improved A1C but I was very happy with the result.  My main goal for the next few months is to work toward eliminating post-meal high bloodsugars.  The goal will be bolusing 15-20 minutes before a meal in order to get my insulin to peak at the same time as my carbs peak.  Hopefully this will help to knock out a lot of the bad bloodsugar time period.  I think this is the smallest amount of change I’ve ever had after visiting the doctor, so hopefully I can fix it.  In the meantime, I have a few more insurance battles to fight.  Major sigh, but, oh well, what’s new, right?

Leave a Reply

