Dblogweek reflection

Last day linking up for diabetes blog week.  Today, the topic is supposed to be a reflection on the week, sharing our new favorite things we discovered.  I only discovered the host blog and the link up on Friday, so I haven’t had much time to surf through everyone’s posts, although I plan to go back and read all of them as I get the chance.  Given that I discovered all of this so late into the game, I haven’t had the chance to notice as much as I’d like.  I think for me the neatest thing was just discovering all the other diabetic bloggers out there.  This disease is isolating.  Blogging is actually kind of isolating too when you first start.  How do you find other people out there that seem like real people?  So many of the blogs I come across randomly are pretty weird blogs or business blogs, and all they’re trying to do is teach you how to make money from your blog.  It’s been so nice just to discover all these other blogs out there written by real folks about their experiences.  I can’t wait to keep reading.

Unrelated to diabetes blog week, I’m going to start posting some of my sugar waves and how I corrected for abnormal situations.  The interesting thing about these sugar-waves for non-diabetics is that they give you a glimpse of how a body responds to different foods.  The more insulin it takes a diabetic to get rid of the sugar in the bloodstream from a particular food, the more insulin it’s going to take a normal person.  The more insulin something takes, the more energy is being stored into your cells, so it’s a pretty good approximation for how different foods are affecting your body apart from their calorie indication. 

Leave a Reply

